i recently visited with a drop dead gorgeous friend of mine who recently has lost almost 50 pounds and she looks and feels amazing!
she was about to share her weight loss secret when i interrupted and told her, please don't tell me you've gone paleo, gluten free, dairy free, sugar free, diet coke free, etc ,
because the thought of all that
completely overwhelms & intimidates me!
she laughed
& then proceeded to tell me
yes ma'am
that she has done basically all of that & more. ( detox included & did a 45 day 500 calorie diet)
i was floored, impressed & overwhelmed yet completely amazed by her motivation & self control.
i was a skinny minny until i got preggers with savannah.
figured since i'd always eaten basically what i wanted to eat, why stop now.
well, i should have stopped because i put on 40 whopping pounds. my word.
lost most of the 40.
got pregnant with madi, gained 25, lost 24 by the time i got home from the hospital ( give or take).
got pregnant with emi while breastfeeding madi, gained 30.
gregg got sick
cut back on my running
felt sorry for myself
he went totally organic
down to the brand of ketchup that we bought.
my weight plateaued for several years.
then i got pregnant & miscarried.
twice.
gained 10.
got pregnant with caroline & was the biggest i've ever been.
sadness
did weight watchers, lost 40 quickly.
gained back 30
weight watchers take 2
which is where i am & have been for the last several years.
while it's an ok weight for me, i'd love to drop 20 more but currently lacking the mental motivation to gear up for all that's involved.
again.
i run every day
but i'll be honest, i eat basically whatever i want.
i seldom drink alcohol.
i frequently make smoothies with spinach & flax seed. for cryin out loud.
i'm not a sweets eater.
i eat a small breakfast & a small lunch. & i'm not a snacker.
french fries & pizza ( not together of course) are my weakness
but i'll be honest, even weight watchers, which comparatively is quite simple (compared to major changes) took a mass amount of mental energy from me.
except for caroline's gi issues/ headaches ( which thankfully in the last year have greatly subsided) we have been blessed to have no allergies & basically no sickness ( other than your occasional strep) in our home.
here's where you come in....
tell me what has worked for you ( in 25 words or less...teasin)
i feel like there is so much information out there, that i don't know where to turn.
i'm at a loss of where the best information can be found
&
what's best for us?
i'm not primarily trying to loose weight,
i just want to be educated.
i feel more convicted than ever, to make what might have once been good choices for my family
even better.
talk to me...
are you a big vitamin taker?
juicer?
organic only?
vegan?
or do you cook from the 4 food groups, consume sugar in moderation & call it day? like moi.
i seriously lay awake at night & wonder if i'm on the right track.
we grill often.
i'm fortunate my girls are good fruit eaters & love most all dark green leafy veggies.
we do skim milk, whole grain breads and caffeine free low sugar drinks.
but is that enough?
i want to feed my family healthy foods
& i want to make healthy choices.
but i feel like i'm the last person on earth who still eats white flour & sugar.
i realize this might not be the easiest format to chat about major issues and convictions but i'd love to hear your scoop or read a link.
(ps. my girl friend also did the hcg diet.
if you would like information from her
feel free to connect.
her email is listed within her profile.)


No comments:
Post a Comment